Australian Sports Commission

Leverrier St, Bruce ACT 2617
Postal Address
PO Box 176, Belconnen ACT 2616
(02) 6214 1111
(02) 6251 2680

The Australian Sports Commission (ASC) is a Corporate Commonwealth Entity within the Australian Government’s Department of Health portfolio. It was established in 1985 and operates under the Australian Sports Commission Act 1989. The ASC is governed by a board of commissioners appointed by the Australian Government. The board determines the ASC’s overall direction, decides on actual allocation of resources and policy for delegated decisions, and is accountable to the Minister for Sport and to Parliament.

The ASC is focused on getting more Australians participating and excelling in sport, by:

•delivering key programs in line with the Australian Government’s sport policy objectives;
•providing financial support and other assistance to national sporting organisations to deliver participation and high performance results and improve their capability, sustainability and effectiveness; and
•building collaboration, alignment and effectiveness within the Australian sport sector.

The ASC is administered from Canberra at the Australian Institute of Sport (AIS) Bruce campus. Other AIS operations are located in Adelaide, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney, as well as Spain, Italy and the United Kingdom. The ASC also operates a major participation program entitled Sporting Schools that provides sporting opportunities to all Australian primary schools.


  • Chief Executive Officer

    Ms Kate Palmer

    Leverrier St, Bruce ACT 2617
    Postal Address
    PO Box 176 Bruce ACT 2616
    (02) 6214 1111
  • For validation reasons - please ignore

Last Reviewed:  Report an error

↑ Back to top