Australian Health Protection Principal Committee

Postal Address
AHPC Secretariat, Office of Health Protection Committee
(02) 6289 2634

The role of the AHPPC is to coordinate national approach to:
preventing and responding to public health emergencies;
communicable disease (excluding chronic disease) threats; and environmental threats to public health, including long-term threats.
The AHPPC is chaired at Deputy Secretary level by the Australian Government Department of Health and have as its core members:
The Chief Medical Officer; each State and Territory Chief Health Officer (and if required a public health or emergency nominated by the CHO for relevant agenda items); health disaster officials (up to 3) nominated by States and Territories or the Commonwealth; the chairs of each of the three sub-committees (Communicable Disease Network Australia (CDNA), Public Health Laboratory Network (PHLN)and the Environmental Health Committee (enHealth); Director General, Emergency Management Australia; Head, Defence Health Services; a representative of the New Zealand Ministry of Health; a representative of Emergency Management Australia; representation from the National Mental Health Disaster Response Committee; and clinical experts and others to be co-opted as necessary.


  • For validation reasons - please ignore

Last Reviewed:  Report an error

↑ Back to top